Personal Growth Plan 2k14.

As of right now I received 13 NEW books for Christmas.  Hooray me!  The topics range from fiction to nutrition to anatomy to psychology.  These books are added onto the 14 I already have piled up on my nightstand.  My plan of attack on these books is the same method I used last year and encourage you all to use.  It’s stolen from a guy named Mike Boyle and I thought I needed to share it with my readers.  There are many of us who want to be better, but wanting to be better and having a plan for self improvement are two different things.  Mike had a plan and was kind enough to share with us on his blog.

These are Mike’s words – “Six years ago, I made a commitment to becoming one of the best at what I do.  I knew in order to do that I would have to learn the skills and become fundamentally grounded in my Spiritual Life, Personal Life, and Professional Life.  There has been nothing that has been more impactful to my career, my family, my relationships, and my finances.  Below I share with you my spiritual, personal, and professional growth plan.”Image

I follow his outline to a T.  I am committed to being the best at what I do as well.  Percy Cerutty said it doesn’t matter what you do in life but be the best at it.

Spiritual Development:

  • 15-30 minutes reading the Bible each day
  • Read 1 Spiritual Growth book per month
  • Attend Church each week (I’m not gonna lie, I haven’t been really consistent at this one over the past year)
  • Build and/or continue a relationship with a Spiritual Mentor each year
  • Record and write down, in a systematic fashion, the most important lessons I’ve learned

Personal Development

  • 30 minutes every other day reading/reflecting/listening or watching personal development material
  • Read 1 Personal Development book per month
  • One audio lesson per month
  • Build a relationship with at least one highly influential leader each year
  • Record and write down, in a systematic fashion, the most important lessons I’ve learned from the material

Professional Development (for me this is physiology, mechanics, sports nutrition, coaching, psychology)

  • 30 minutes every other day reading/reflecting/listening or watching personal development material
  • Read 1 article per week
  • Build a relationship with at least one highly influential leader each year
  • Watch 1 video per month
  • Go to one conference per year
  • Record and write down, in a systematic fashion, the most important lessons and concepts I’ve learned from the material

Ask yourself, what would happen if I lost my job today?  What would happen if I were no longer needed on my team?  Would my past commitment to preparation and to getting better at what I do leave me fearful about my job security?  OR Would my preparation and commitment to personal growth leave me fearless and ready to move on to bigger and better things?

About marathonmanufacturing

Endurance/Fitness Coach at Tipton Lakes Athletic Club. USATF Level 1 Coach. Progressive Performance Training Systems Coach. Husband, Assistant Coach at Columbus North High School in Indiana, Elite Marathoner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment